DSC_0365

Friday night Fish& and Dough Boys @ Belgrave Music Hall and Canteen, Leeds

Belgrave Music Hall and Canteen had its long awaited opening on Wednesday night in Leeds Northern Quarter, I’d heard on the old Twitter grapevine that as well as bringing great music to Leeds, this new music haven would also be serving great food in their new kitchen. With the team from Northern StrEats sprinkling their magic on this new venture, the Leeds renowned Fish& would be their opening gambit serving their fish and chips with a twist . Pizza would also be served from new street food brand Dough Boys with their hand stretched pizzas.

The Northern Quarter already has some great bars and eateries, such as North Bar, Sandinista, It Bar, Fuji Hiro and Sela Bar amongst a whole host of others, but with Belgrave Music Hall opening it brings a whole new vibrancy to the cultural scene in Leeds. Us Leeds folk certainly are being spoilt for choice!!!

DSC_0312

Over three floors the philosophy behind the place is not just to bring great music to Leeds, but also fantastic street food, craft beers, cocktails, art and film and with the lure of the rooftop terrace, it has virtually all my favourite things in one place. You can find it next door to favourite Sandinista and in the past the building has had many different names and uses, all of which have unfortunately failed, but I’m really hoping this one sticks.

DSC_0294 DSC_0298 DSC_0299

The venture has been fronted by Ash Kollakowski and Simon Stevens, well known for organising Beacons Festival, as well as other gigs in and around Leeds. They seem to have all bases covered with this new multi-faceted venue, for me the best thing is the food and drinks. I’d gone to check it out, needing to head into town for a number of different things – hair cut, Leeds Town Hall for the preview of Leeds International Film Festival and Light Night all in the city centre. I wanted to have a little peek at Belgrave too so I could try out the food, I really needed it after a long week at work.

DSC_0310 DSC_0311 DSC_0287 DSC_0286

As Northern StrEats and Dough Boys are providing the sustenance and I wanted to try some pizza, served whole or by the slice, what was also great to see that they have gluten free and vegan options amongst their repertoire, encouraging news for the other half!!

DSC_0289 DSC_0292 DSC_0290

Baa No More - Middle eastern spiced lamb, pecorino, baby red chard, pine nuts pomegranate
Baa No More – Middle eastern spiced lamb, pecorino, baby red chard, pine nuts and pomegranate

When I arrived the Slice Bar was in full flow, with pizza were being made and cooked in front of my eyes. I couldn’t help myself and sampled a couple of different pizzas, I tried a ‘slice’, a generous quarter of a pizza each of the Into the Woods and Baa No More, both REALLY didn’t last very long at all, and even though I’d gone there Billy no mates, I have a sneaky feeling I would’ve been completely ignorant even with company, and just stuffed my face rather than utter a single word to anyone until after I’d finished. Both tasted fantastic with a lovely thin base and very tasty toppings, out of the two my favourite was the Baa No More with its delicious Middle Eastern flavours – spiced lamb, pomegranate and pine nuts. LOVED IT!!! If that wasn’t music to ears then there’s the added bonus of HALF priced pizza slices 4-7pm everyday, so a complete bargain for £2.90!!! I was too early for Fish& goodies, but I did get my fill went I had some of their fried delights at Millennium Square instead!!!

Belgrave’s yummy street food is served canteen style 4pm till late Monday – Thursday and 12pm – late Friday – Sunday.
Pop down, you’ll be really happy you did!!!

Belgrave Music Hall and Canteen
1-1A Cross Belgrave Street
Leeds
LS2 8JP
0113 234 6160
http://www.belgravemusichall.com

Belgrave Music Hall and Canteen on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Friday night Fish& and Dough Boys @ Belgrave Music Hall and Canteen, Leeds”

Leave a Reply

