Town Hall Tavern

Knowing that I was to spend the evening in Leeds city centre, I thought carefully about where I could get a decent plate of food. My criteria included (apart from yummy food) – nice surroundings, good service and a yummy glass of wine, after a hard days work. I had a few places in mind but chose the Town Hall Tavern, it’s opposite Leeds County Court, and as the name suggests the Leeds Town hall.

image

The pub has been open since 1926, but had a major refurbishment in May 2011 and since then I’ve been a regular diner. It was actually here that it was first suggested that I write a food blog! The menu is full of tempting dishes, being in the city centre it gets a lot of city workers in, so the menu has been thought about carefully, e.g. knife and fork sandwiches which are ideal for lunch. For people who want a bit more, there are great home comforts, e.g. steak, pie and mash, their scampi in a basket is a favourite of mine and also their signature dishes, e.g. sea bass and a slow roast belly pork.

I’d already seen on their Facebook page that moules mariniere and beef dripping chips was on the specials board, so I was definitely going to order it with a large glass of sauvignon blanc.

The food arrived under wraps, with the compulsory dish for the empty shells on top, accompanied with a mini pan of chips and bread wedges.

Moules mariniere waiting to be unveiled.
Moules mariniere waiting to be unveiled.

image image

The mussels smelled delicious and looked plump and juicy. There was plenty of sauce to dunk my chips and bread in too. The taste was fantastic, mussels perfectly cooked and the chips were crispy but soft in the middle. The bread was lovely and fresh – great for soaking up the sauce!

The staff are always friendly and attentive, without being overbearing and I’ve always really enjoyed the food there. I didn’t have a dessert this time, but they are rather special too!

Cost – £7.95 for the mussels and a large glass of sauvignon blanc was £5.25. The pub has regular offers and till the end of the February has a 20% off on food which I couldn’t waste, so in the end was £11. An absolute bargain for the quality!!!

It’s great to have a fantastic gastropub in the centre of Leeds, I’m sure I’ll be back again soon!

Town Hall Tavern
17 Westgate
Leeds
LS1 2RA
0113 244 0765
 
Leave a Reply

