Little Tokyo

The end of the school year is upon us school folk and as unofficial chief organiser, I’d planned a night out for regular Leeds goer-outers, it was unconsciously an unplanned Japanese affair…singing our hearts out at OK Karaoke, then the most popular choice for food was Little Tokyo. I LOVE Japanese food, it’s one of my all-time favourite cuisines, even more so after having visited Japan a few years ago. Little Tokyo is a Japanese restaurant that seems to have been in Leeds for years, a lot of my friends always rave on about the place, and even though I’d been a number of times, the last time was at least 2/3 years ago. To be honest I’d always preferred Fuji Hiro, (even though their menus are a different to each other). For those of you who don’t know of Little Tokyo, it’s in Leeds city centre, behind House of Fraser.

IMG_3421IMG_3409

We had arrived a little early so waited in the seating area at the front of the restaurant. What I did notice was that the staff were a little lacklustre in service. A few occasions there wasn’t anyone on hand to order a drink from, even though the place was pretty much empty apart from a couple who were eating. On the menu they had usual dishes of gyoza, ebi katsu and Yaki soba (so could compare them to Fuji Hiro’s).

IMG_3405

Our table ordered a selection of things, gyoza was a popular choice, ebi katsu, vegetarian spring rolls and tempura vegetables.

Ebi katsu
Ebi katsu
Pork gyoza
Pork gyoza
Vegetarian spring rolls
Vegetarian spring rolls
Tempura vegetables
Tempura vegetables

I literally hadn’t eaten all day to save myself for Little Tokyo, so to say I was looking forward to it was an understatement!! On arrival the starters all looked very tasty, but through my haste I forgot to take a proper of the gyoza!! I can only really talk for my dishes, the ebi katsu although tasty, with a nice panko breadcrumb crust, were not as juicy as I was hoping. I immediately wanted a plate of ebi katsu from the above mentioned restaurant near the Merrion centre. My gyoza were tasty and generously filled with pork, I did find that the gyoza wrappers were a little greasy though and I do prefer them to have a crispier bottom.

Our main courses were yaki soba, yaki bucksoba, nigiri set and king prawn fry bento box.

Yaki bucksoda
Yaki bucksoda
Yaki soba
Yaki soba
Prawn bento box
Prawn bento box
Nigiri and rice half set
Nigiri and rice half set

Our main courses looked great too, my yaki soba had lots of chicken, pak choi, lotus root and chinese mushrooms. It was a very tasty bowl of food, everything was cooked well and had a delicate soy based sauce which bound it altogether. The initial slow service did improve throughout the meal and when we were sat at our table they were more attentive.The total bill was £119 for 5 people. For all the hype of hearing about it for the last few of years, saying I should go back to Little Tokyo, I did enjoy it but it still won’t be first choice for Japanese food in Leeds.

Little Tokyo
24 Central Road
Leeds
LS1 6DE
0113 243 9090
http://www.littletokyo-leeds.co.uk

Leave a Reply

