Trinity Kitchen is OPEN @ Trinity Leeds

Trinity Kitchen is finally open to the public after months of anticipation, so I went down on the opening evening to see what all the fuss was about. I must say since Trinity Leeds opened earlier this year, I have had some mixed feelings about the place. It has good and bad points and if I’m honest, I wasn’t really sure what to make of Trinity Kitchen from early reports that I’d read. Bringing street food off the street indoors and setting them up in a food hall, sort of defeats the object, especially since Leeds already has a burgeoning street food scene with the Briggate World Feast etc. But I was really wanting to be impressed and feel that when I left it had all been worth it.

Trinity Kitchen has seven permanent restaurants, bars and cafes, all new to Leeds – Vietnamese Pho restaurant, 360 Champagne and Cocktails Bar, Chips + Fish, Notes CafePizzaLuxe and Tortilla, while a monthly rotation of street food vendors starting with Leeds based award winning Manjit’s Kitchen and The Marvellous Tea Company serving tea and cake from their vintage styled garden shed, Gurmetti selling traditional Italian foccacia and wraps from their three-wheel Piaggio van, London based Big Apple Hot Dogs and Katie & Kim (British Street Food 2013 winners) serving cuisines from all over the world will keep the Trinity Kitchen interesting.

DSC_0679 DSC_0680

On arrival to the place I was loving what they had done with the space. Keeping things quite industrial with lots of bare brick walls and concrete columns, pipework and wiring on show. Lots of neon signage, bright colours from street art emblazoned on some of the walls, while other parts made use of the huge windows which look out onto Albion Street. It had a real first day buzz and a fab atmosphere. With the street food vendor carts being transported off the street into the building the place looked fantastic!!

DSC_0651DSC_0649DSC_0633

DSC_0556

DSC_0624 DSC_0628 DSC_0654 DSC_0609 DSC_0589 DSC_0567 DSC_0545 DSC_0669 DSC_0645DSC_0606

DSC_0581DSC_0548

DSC_0584

So what about the food then!!! I’d read on Twitter about how good the custard tarts were from Katie & Kim (British Street Food 2013 winners), I’d fallen in love with the traditional Portuguese custard tart Pastel de nata while on holiday in Lisbon, so I thought that would be a good place to start. It was REALLY yummy, nice crumbly pastry and filled with a gorgeous custard which certainly brought back fond memories of a fantastic holiday. I then had a yummy meal at London based Pho Restaurant (review to come) and even though I was now pretty full, I managed to fit in a dessert with a VERY moreish toffee apple cake from Leeds based The Marvellous Tea Dance Company.

Massive Meringues!!!
Massive Meringues!!!
Pastel de nata
Pastel de nata
Toffee apple cake
Toffee apple cake

DSC_0685At the beginning of this I said I wasn’t sure what to make of Trinity Kitchen and that I was hoping to have my mind changed for the better, I must say I was impressed with what they’ve achieved. Yes it was the first day and there was a great buzz and atmosphere about the place, but I have a feeling this is going to continue and grow and grow. From what I saw, people were loving the food and really enjoying the atmosphere as I was. With the monthly change in the street food vendors being brought in, including some from Leeds, e.g. Fish& things can only get better from what was already a great start!

If you are like me and a bit of a pessimist about the whole thing, give it a try. You might just find you like it a lot and leave with a very full belly!!

DSC_0613

Trinity Kitchen
27 Albion St
Leeds
West Yorkshire
LS1 5ER

2 thoughts on “Trinity Kitchen is OPEN @ Trinity Leeds”

Leave a Reply

