Pho Restaurant launch night @ Trinity Kitchen

Thursday night was the Pho Vietnamese Restaurant Launch Night at Trinity Kitchen in Leeds. After reviewing them on the opening day a few weeks ago, I was invited by Libby Andrews their Head of Marketing to the event. Initially I’d thought I couldn’t make it, because I’d bought tickets for the Leeds film festival, but I didn’t think twice once I realised I could fit it in, so invited a foodie friend to join me. It’s obvious that the idea of a launch evening is to promote what Pho do best – produce food with tasty, fresh flavours. We were amongst a number of other Leeds based bloggers with drinks and food in plentiful supply. After a long day at school my friend and I were both tired, with the need to relax after a pretty full on day being paramount. While we put the world to rights we were treated to a selection of dishes from the sides and snacks on the menu.

IMG_4892

Gỏi cuốn: summer rolls (prawn and chicken) with herbs, vermicelli & pickle
Gỏi cuốn: summer rolls (prawn and chicken) with herbs, vermicelli & pickle

IMG_4894 IMG_4895

Chả giò: spring rolls (pork) served with lettuce & herbs to wrap & dip
Chả giò: spring rolls (pork) served with lettuce & herbs to wrap & dip
Chả giò: spring rolls (veggie) served with lettuce & herbs to wrap & dip
Chả giò: spring rolls (veggie) served with lettuce & herbs to wrap & dip
Nem nướng: pork & lemongrass meatballs with lettuce & herbs to wrap & dip
Nem nướng: pork & lemongrass meatballs with lettuce & herbs to wrap & dip

IMG_4903

Mực chiên giòn: tender fried baby squid with a salt, pepper & lime dip
Mực chiên giòn: tender fried baby squid with a salt, pepper & lime dip

I must say that it all tasted great, with their typical fresh vibrant flavours coming to the fore, a great use of herbs, dips and heat from chilli where required. The greedy person that I am thought it was shame we didn’t sample their noodle or rice dishes, it would have given us a better overview of their menu. They are really tasty too, but saying that I was pretty full after all the snacks and sides they treated us to!! My favourites from the evening were the pork spring rolls which were crisp with a good filling and the pork and lemongrass meatball wraps. I’d love to try to make the meatballs at home, they were very moreish, juicy and had great flavour from the aromatic lemongrass.

Once again it showed me how tasty their food is, it’s quick, fresh, healthy, good value and best of all really yummy!!

With this being the only purely Vietnamese place in Leeds City Centre to my knowledge, I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s been a huge success so far. Asian food always seems to be a winner and be extremely popular. As far other restaurants in Leeds if you want a Vietnamese fix you can get some at Viet-Thai in Stanningley and at Tong Palace on Vicar Lane which serves both Chinese and Vietnamese food.

Pho TK1 Trinity Kitchen,
401 Trinity Leeds,
Albion Street,
Leeds
LS1 5AY
0113 245 6926

Leave a Reply

