World Feast on Briggate, Leeds

The Madeleine Express is a cute Citroën H Van in a gorgeous cool spearmint colour, this van transports the bakes created by Noisette Bakehouse who are based in Robertown, Liversedge. DSC_0375On the counter was a complete feast for the eyes, full of goodies for anyone with a sweet tooth. I absolutely love Madeleines and after missing them last time on Briggate I had highlighted the World Feast in my diary for Sunday 24th Nov ages ago, and was determined to get my hands on some.

DSC_0378DSC_0374 DSC_0376

After a lovely chat with Sarah who does the baking and her father, it seemed to me that they are really enjoying what they do, travelling as far as their Citroën will allow, and selling these gorgeous delights. On offer they had lots of treats, on my wish list was the prized Madeleine, two types were available; Vanilla sugar and Winter spice. I got 3 of each and went on my way, supposedly waiting to eat them when I got home with a cup of tea.

Madeleines - Winter Spice and Vanilla Sugar
Madeleines – Winter Spice and Vanilla Sugar
My Madeleines!!
My Madeleines!!

Who was I kidding, I walked as far as Trinity Leeds (basically one minute walk away) and opened the bag. I was immediately hooked as soon as I could smell them, two were gone within the first five minutes. Deliciously moist, with flavours which were distinct. I had the vanilla first, they had a lovely flavour from Ugandan vanilla powder called Ndali, the finest you can get I was told. The Winter Spiced madeleines had orange in them and I thought they were REALLY yummy. I may have even liked them more than the Vanilla ones. I tried to be really good, but two hours had passed and I was down to two left!! I didn’t need a cuppa with them as they were really moist.

They also make gluten free and vegan delights as well, for the other half I purchased one of each of these, a Cherry tartlet and a Harvest loaf with banana, spices, molasses centre.

My husband's gluten free goodies - Cherry Crumble Tartlet and Harvest Loaf (sweet potato, banana, spices, fudge molasses centre)
My husband’s gluten free goodies – Cherry Crumble Tartlet and Harvest Loaf

Here are some other delights they had on offer that day:

Banana Fosters Supreme - banana cake layered with banana, molasses, rum cream, topped with pecan brittle.
Banana Fosters Supreme – banana cake layered with banana, molasses, rum cream, topped with pecan brittle.
Raspberry white chocolate brownie
Raspberry white chocolate brownie
Toffee Apple Cheesecake
Toffee Apple Cheesecake
Cocoa Walnut Brownie
Cocoa Walnut Brownie
Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake
Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake
Rodeo Yo Yo's
Rodeo Yo Yo’s

The Madeleine Express can be found at local food markets, such at Kirkstall Deli market on the last weekend of every month. Not only do they produce sweet treats, but also lots of savoury goodies and breakfast too for example granola, raw bars and muffins. They also serve coffee from the guys at North Star Micro Roasters as well as good old Yorkshire Tea. They’ll also be involved in Winter Wonderleeds in December, a 17 day festival celebrating 20 of the best stalls from independent, local businesses in Leeds on Briggate.

A little while later I strolled up to the Street Fodder truck, a mobile food van serving Asian style street food. I’d been following them on Twitter for a while, after reading that they’d been selling their street food in and around Leeds. I’d been wanting to try out their food for ages and thought this would be as good a time as any to have a try.

DSC_0373

On offer they had Chicken Massaman Curry, Nasi Goreng and Pad Thai (£5) and Chicken Kati wraps (£4). I love a good Pad Thai and that was always going to be my first choice. As some of my friends will know I always ask for it WITHOUT nuts (as I hate them)!! The lady who served me very kindly asked if I wanted some crispy shallots instead, which was a really good alternative I thought giving extra flavour and texture. It took a matter of minutes to cook from start to finish. I walked away armed with a pair of chopsticks in one hand and my pot of Pad Thai in the other.

Chicken Pad Thai with crispy shallots
Chicken Pad Thai with crispy shallots

The first few mouthfuls gave me a tonne of flavour straight away, with moist pieces of chicken, plenty of coriander and lots of bean sprouts and carrot to give crunch and rice noodles all coated with a well flavoured slippery sauce. It costs just £5 and it was well worth it too!! 

You can find Street Fodder in and around Leeds, recently they’ve been feeding people at Lawnswood Park, Roundhay,  Alwoodley, City West on Geldard Road and Wellington Place in Leeds city centre. If you see them, try them out!!

http://noisettebakehouse.com/madeleine-express/

https://twitter.com/StreetFodder
http://www.leedsmarkets.co.uk/e/world-feast

 
3 thoughts on “World Feast on Briggate, Leeds”

Leave a Reply

