The Tetley Revisited, Leeds

I visited The Tetley in December as part my search for the perfect Afternoon tea, and after a mixed experience I wasn’t really sure what to make of it all. Fair play to The Tetley they took my feedback on the chin and they hoped I’d go again. Since then I’ve read lots of good reports, so I went back with my friend Lucy to give it another try, feeling hopeful and hungry! It was Thursday night and we were both feeling overworked, fatigued and desperately in need of a fuss free tasty dinner. Battered by the gales and the aftermath of the stormy weather making my day at school a little interesting, we were both a little weathered  to put it mildly ourselves!

image

On arrival we were greeted and brought into the dining room, it was a shame we were the only diners in there. The space has a lovely old school dining room feel to it, and even though is a large open area it still has a warmth about it. Our server was immediately very pleasant and helpful, and knew the menu so gave us a few pointers which were gratefully received. From her advice I ordered the sea bass with kale and shrimps with a side, while Lucy fancied the idea of  a classic Toad in the Hole. 

image

We were happily supping away on our wine when the food arrived, the Yorkshire was a lovely sight to behold, a big ol’ Giant Yorkshire filled with a customary sausage, generous in size and little onions (possibly silver skin) and lashings of gravy.  My friend tucked in with gusto and I was a little jealous of her choice because I love a good Yorkshire!!

image

My fish dish wasn’t the largest of plates, so the advice to opt for a side dish was a good one. The sea bass was well cooked, with crisp skin, it was well seasoned and the iron-rich kale was a lovely wintry accompaniment. I ordered some chips even though there was mash on the plate too, an peculiar choice I know, but I’m satisfied with it as they were very good. They were in possession of all the essential characteristics that make a good chip – fluffy on the inside and lightly crisp on the outside, not too big.

Desserts were up next: for me it was a toss up between apple pie and rhubarb crumble, with it being rhubarb season I felt myself gravitating toward it, so my decision was made. Lucy needed a chocolate hit so the chocolate pot was there for the taking. Once again our lady was at hand to give a gentle nudge with advice, this time she mentioned ice cream, in particular a treacle one which sounded really interesting.

image

Oh they looked good and had flavour to match as well – my crumble had a good ratio of rhubarb to crumble topping, with lovely sweet and sour rhubarb, perfectly stewed. I also liked the crumble top  which was a good mix of fine and chunky bits. The custard didn’t let the side down either, plenty of vanilla and a good consistency. I just wish I’d had a bigger jug of it. 

image

image

Lucy’s chocolate pot was served in a Kilner jar and was really big! So much so after trying really hard she couldn’t finish it. 

We were both really pleased with the whole experience this time! Last time the strange service we received left us with a feeling of confusing, frustration and hunger, but I’m happy to say this was a much lovelier outing! I’m hoping if it was a busy service; a Sunday lunch for example the whole package would be as consistent then too. 

Our meal was £54 for 2 people, 2 courses each with a bottle of wine. I’d recommend it!!

Food: well cooked, good seasonal ingredients used. 

Service: friendly, helpful with the menu and always there to help.

Atmosphere: it was a quiet evening in the Tetley dining room, but the room still had a warmth to it. 

The Tetley
Hunslet Road
Leeds
LS10 1JQ
0113 320 2323
http://thetetley.org/the-tetley/

Leave a Reply

