Beef & Bourbon @ RARE, Leeds

I love food, obviously, but I have to admit I’m not the best when it comes to sharing, which I know is a little silly as this is one of it’s beauties. So to my delight I heard that RARE were doing something called RARE TASTE WEDNESDAYS, where each week the menu would comprise 4 tasting courses using one animal, accompanied with a flight of cocktails inspired by one spirit. If we were all eating the same thing, no sharing would be required and being the carnivore that I am, it would be hopefully a win win situation, woohoo!! Myself and a friend were treated to the Beef and Bourbon Tasting menu, and as a courtesy I should probably mention that we had been invited by RARE that evening.

image

Before the meal I could imagine the first three courses, but a dessert using BEEF as the star ingredient….my mind was struggling to come to terms with what might be put in front of us.

image

The first course was brought in a kilner jar, which once opened released a puff of smoke, I liked the smoked oxtail which was as tender as you like, but I didn’t get much of the celeriac. The Cherry Lips drink didn’t last very long at all and was lovely and sweet.  

image

image

image

The second course was a mixed bag for myself and dining partner, on the positives the beef was incredibly tender and the fennel came through well. On the negatives I found the bourbon hard to detect, and whilst the orange I liked, my friend found it too overpowering. 

image

image

image

As for the third course, this was the one we both loved, no question! The beef was cooked to perfection and was flavourful, the onion macaroni was a good, unusual accompaniment which I really liked. To go with this we were given the ‘Travelling Bootlegger’ which had was a combination of cherry brandy and bourbon – delicious.

image

image

For our final course I’d wondered how they would incorporate beef into a dessert, I couldn’t really see it myself. What they brought over was a date sponge with toffee sauce and slithers of sweet cured beef. The sponge was lovely, but it took me a while to get my head around eating beef in a dessert, for me it’s texture didn’t quite work and it was all a little too sweet for my taste.

image

image

The last of these RARE TASTE WEDNESDAYS is on Wednesday 25th February, when they will be serving 4 courses with Lamb and Rum. It certainly was an experience I won’t forget, it may not have worked on all levels for me, but it’s great to see a restaurant pushing the boundaries and keeping people’s taste buds on their toes.

Disclaimer: I was invited by RARE that evening so my meal was complimentary, but as usual my views are my own.  

Saying that at £30 per person, it’s pretty good value considering you get a 4 course meal and 4 cocktails to boot!!

RARE
163 Lower Briggate
Leeds
LS1 6LY
http://www.eatdrinkrare.com 

Rare on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

