Belgrave Street Feast, pt III, Leeds

The success of last month’s Belgrave Street Feast was only going to warrant one thing – something bigger and better than the last time!

The latest instalment was Saturday 8th March and bigger and better was what we got. In attendance were fifteen food and drink vendors, and an Arts Market with the likes of Hope House Prints and Colours May Vary present. Ilkley Brewery were also showcasing the launch of their new ale American Smooth and hosting a Q&A session. With all of this going on both floors were in full use.
image
All the Belgrave regulars were serving goodies, such as Dough Boys Pizza, Patty Smith burgers, Fu-Schniken and Laynes Espresso, and also drafted in were Leeds favourites Noisette Bakehouse, The Grub & Grog Shop, Fish&, El Topo, Hepworth’s Deli, and Manchester based Diamond Dogs to serve the masses. I’d tried and enjoyed all of these before, so the street food vendors I wanted to try this time were Belgrave newcomers Papa Ganoush (Newcastle) and Mash&Pie (Ferrybridge).
The clock struck 12pm, which in our house signals lunch o’clock (a saying coined by my other half) and I immediately made a beeline for both of these guys. First up was Mash&Pie from Ferrybridge just down the M62.
image
They had four amazing sounding pies to tempt carnivores and non-metal eaters alike, but I went for the ‘Pigs in a Blanquette’ with smoked mash. With ingredients which are ethically sourced and pastry made with 50% butter it sounded promising. I’d not eaten a really good pie in quite a while, especially with the other half’s gluten intolerance there hasn’t been much opportunity so I had my fingers crossed it would be good, I wasn’t disappointed!!

image

Yummy Pies
Yummy Pies
Pigs in a Blanquette with smoked mash and gravy
Pigs in a Blanquette with smoked mash and gravy

Pork shoulder, braised red pepper, paprika, green peppercorns and peas in one pie!!!! A fantastic combination teamed with their smooth smoked mash which was just right, enough smokiness to make it identifiable but not overpowering. Yummy gravy too…I could eat that all day long!! £5.50 very well spent!!

My second course was from Papa Ganoush, a family run street food team from Newcastle, who’ve been serving their style of Middle eastern food for a number of years. The smell from the hot plate was fabulous and I was torn between what to have. On offer were Lebanese spiced chicken and their homemade Merguez lamb sausage, served on homemade bread. 

image image

image
Selection of accompaniments, Merguez lamb sausages and spiced chicken on the hot plate

image

My Merguez lamb wrap was filled with everything (carrot with ras el hanout, spinach, humous, chilli pepper, harissa, and a fresh chopped salad) and was incredibly tasty!!! Wow their sausages are crammed with intense flavour and heat, really packing a punch, all the accompaniments kept it lovely and fresh. The only thing I could be picky about was I wish the pickled chilli had been chopped up as in one mouthful I got the whole thing and it was incredibly hot with the sausage as well. Maybe it’s because I’m a wuss when it come to hot stuff though!! At £5 it’s a bargain and massive too!!

After a little break I was still hungry so treated myself to a couple of yummy bakes from Noisette Bakehouse. Sarah who creates and bakes everything never fails to surprise me with her imagination and creativity. I’d been eyeing up a few things and went home very happy with a brownie and a slice of her Victoria Sponge.

image image

image
Here they are…Noisette Bakehouse Sea Salt Caramel Brownies

image

The takeaway treats got demolished in minutes, I was a good girl and shared them with the other half though. My ultimate favourite cake had a moist sponge, homemade jam full of fruit that had a good balance between sweet and sourness, and with lots of cream the whole thing was basically very yummy.  
I forgot to take a photo of our brownie before it was mauled, but it was pretty special. These are quietly getting a name for themselves and it’s no surprise.
I’m hoping the Street Feast will be back next month, it’s going to be hard to top this one, but I’m sure they’ll give it a good go!
 http://papaganoush.co.uk
Leave a Reply

