White Cloth Gallery, Leeds

Even though I eat out a lot and love anything related to good food, I do have many other interests including art, architecture, cinema, theatre and sport. One of my favourite places in Leeds is White Cloth Gallery, just a stones throw away from Leeds City train station on Aire Street.

image

Unfortunately, I’ve had little chance to get there recently, but I’ve always been a fan of the place. Whether to watch a great film, put the world to rights with an after work drink, or spend a quick half an hour wandering around one of their exhibitions; my most favourite so far has been their David Bowie retrospective exhibition last year. But with White Cloth good food and drink also comes into the mix, so I say ‘all the better for it’. I normally park nearby when I venture into town, and have walked past countless times eager to have another go at their pizza. My one and only pizza there was at least a year ago if not longer! 

White Cloth has a fair sized menu, considering the actual size of the place and their mini kitchen. I must remember that the venue is a gallery/exhibition space, not really a cafe and certainly not a restaurant, so you wouldn’t expect the menu to be too diverse. This said their menu is split into a range of sandwiches, pizzas, salads and hot stuff, all ranging from £3.95 – £7 respectively .

image

White Cloth has some intriguing sounding pizzas on their menu (£7), in particular the Longhorn beef chilli con carne pizza, but I found myself automatically gravitating towards either the meatballs or pulled pork. Oh I love a decent meat ball (if you remember my write up on YMCO!), so being a creature of habit the Spicy Pork Meatball pizza it was, with a lovely glass of their house dry white wine. Yes, I probably should’ve asked what the wine was, but I forgot and basically was in desperate need of some liquid refreshment, after a long day/week at work. Thankfully it was crisp, light and dry, extremely quaffable as it happened too!

My friend and I had sat with a perfect view into their tiny kitchen, and I could see them making the pizza. A fresh pizza base was topped, cooked and placed in front of us within ten minutes. Not bad!! 

image

The pizza was as good as I remembered, visually it was pretty with the colours of red onion and the rocket oil which brought it to life. The uber thin base was great and was topped generously with tasty spicy pork sausage meatball, red onion marmalade & rocket oil which was a revelation. At first sight I thought at £7, it may be overpriced, but when it arrived it was more than a decent sized pizza for one, in fact I shared a few slices with my friend.

image

A pizza and a glass of house dry white wine was £11 in total.  

I definitely RECOMMEND White Cloth Gallery for a pizza and a decent after work drink. What’s even better is that you can get a culture fix and have a gander at one of their fantastic exhibitions.

Food: Pizza was decent, lovely thin base, lovely flavours and heat where there was supposed to be, loved the rocket oil too. Small, concise menu with choices for non-meat eaters.

Service: pleasant staff, quick and efficient. It wasn’t too busy at the time, but I’ve eaten at quieter places with much slower service!

Atmosphere: the place has a good after work buzz.

White Cloth Gallery 
24-26 Aire Street
Leeds
LS1 4HT
0113 2181923
http://www.whiteclothgallery.com/cafe-bar-2/

White Cloth Gallery Bar & Food on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

