A dilemma – To Freebie or not to freebie?

I started writing the blog over 14 months ago because of my love of eating out and documenting it with photographs. For months it was reviews on establishments around the UK and abroad, from Michelin starred to my local curry house – all places I’d chosen to go to and paid for out of my own pocket. I’ve reviewed A LOT, and over a number of months there have been many a freebie flying around, but I think it’s come to the point where I am not doing them anymore.

I’ve been in a dilemma for a while now. It’s been creeping up on me and really kicked off after reviewing COSMO and Wasabi. I’ve been at odds with myself about getting freebies and also reviewing chains ever since. I know some people may think, ‘what about all the freebies, that’s great’. Yes, there are positives and negatives to this, but it makes me feel uncomfortable. It’s very easy to accept everything, but I am going to gratefully decline all such offers from now on. 

I’m not really sure why I’m feeling the need to declare this, but I suppose as a blogger I have some sort of obligation to provide a service to others. Some people may disagree. I know that before I started blogging I used to read Leeds Grub and The Leeds Guide regularly to inform me of where to go/not go to eat myself. 

Basically it comes down to this; the blog is my outlet for writing about places I want to try for the first time or revisit, but also pay for out of my own pocket. It’s one of the things I really enjoy doing and luckily, is a regular occurrence so content to write about has never been lacking.

But after accepting freebies and adding them to the mix, it’s gradually worn me down and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m NOT comfortable receiving freebies and I won’t be doing them in the future.

What’s your opinion on this, what do you think?

6 thoughts on “A dilemma – To Freebie or not to freebie?”

  1. Dear Di

    It could be argued that one can’t be unbiased in these circumstances. This could be a very expensive hobby.

    Eileen x

    Sent from my iPad

  2. It’s kinda ce to be asked but they are only doing it so you will give the a good review. I think it’s much better and has more weight if you can make as unbiased rebiew as possible. So I am with you on saying no !!!! Much more ethical I suppose but sadly more expensive.

Leave a Reply

