Trinity Kitchen VI, Leeds

Trinity Kitchen’s newest set of street food traders have rolled into Leeds, and I’d been wondering for a while what newbies they could bring in to keep us punters coming back for more. With the usual buzz on Twitter with who’d be in the new line-up I had a nosey after school on Tuesday to find out.

The first stall to catch my eye and tastebuds was London based Mei Mei’s Street Cart. Mei Mei’s been making Jian Bing (filled Chinese Crepes) since childhood and obviously has cooking Chinese food in the DNA, with a grandmother that is a huge cooking inspiration.

image

I’d known what a Jian Bing was, but had never eaten one so this was a new Chinese food staple for me, and one that I was itching to get my hands on. Being a roast pork fiend there was only EVER going to be one choice for my first Jian Bing – Char Sui Pork!

image

I watched intently as Mei Mei made my Jian Bing. I loved the idea of having the spring onion and coriander embedded on one side as she flipped the crepe over whilst cooking it, with a thin covering of soy, hoisin and chilli sauce painted on the other. A layer of Char Sui pork and finally the addition of crispy wonton which was a GENIUS idea. 

image

Here’s the final product, a thin crepe filled with Char Sui pork that had been marinated for 24 hours. It had flavourful, juicy meat and was lip-smackingly good. The chilli/soy/hoisin sauce combo gave a sweet, salty, mild heat that worked well with the pork. I really liked the additional greenery too, especially the coriander which added  freshness. All of this folded up into a parcel that was nearly the size of my FACE, it was that large!

Jian Bing with Char Sui Pork
Jian Bing with Char Sui Pork

This isn’t just any simple crepe, it’s a street food crepe elevated up a notch with a tonne of flavours and textures all in one shebang! I sat there a VERY happy girl and enjoyed every mouthful! I’m definitely going to have to make these Jian Bing at home!!!

image

My next stop was The Cheese Truck, who are based in London and are friends with Donastia Social Club and Original Fry Up Material. Arguably two of the most popular traders to date at Trinity Kitchen, and definitely in my list of faves so far! Mathew set up The Cheese Truck after being inspired from a trip to the USA, and having already worked in the hospitality industry, whether it was for a catering company, setting up a restaurant in Covent Garden or working on the PR side of the business, he saw this as a natural progression.

With their cool industrial feel cooking station they sell their grilled cheese sandwiches with a range of fillings. I tried their Grilled Cheese with Keens Cheddar, Ogleshield and onion mix.

image

image
The Cheese Truck’s beers from Camden Town and their cute ice-cream van/cheese truck!

My sandwich was filled with perfectly gooey cheese that did the whole stretchy thing when you take a bite. It was incredibly cheesy, but with the addition of the onion it doesn’t get too overpowering and helps to cut through the richness. All inside two slices of Sourdough from Leeds’ very own artisan bakers Leeds Bread Coop. Definitely fantastic comfort food! The other one that really took my fancy was the Grilled Cheese with Queso Chihuahua cheese, spicy chorizo and rocket. 

Grilled Cheese
Grilled Cheese

The final new trader to grace this month’s Trinity Kitchen is Pembermen’s from London. Serving baps filled with breakfast items or pulled meats (using local sources) from the hatch in their converted 1972 Commer camper van. I REALLY REALLY wanted to try something out, but I was too full to contemplate a third course. I think the All Day breakfast and pulled meat baps have my name written ALL over them though, especially the Gloucester Old Spot pulled pork! They also have coffee on the go and homemade biscuits too!

image

image

image

Repeat offenders to Trinity Kitchen are Dogtown Hot Dog Co. and The Marvellous Tea Company, back with their hotdogs and cakes!!

image image

image image

I was getting a little worried that Trinity Kitchen would run out of ideas, but from what I tried I feel positive about these. I’ll be back soon to try a bit more, especially to get my first Pembermen’s!

What street food would you love to see being served at Trinity Kitchen, and are there any street food traders you would love to see back again? 

Trinity Kitchen
Trinity Leeds
Albion Street
Leeds
LS1 5AT
0113 3942415

Leave a Reply

