Can Food Be Art? The Man Behind the Curtain, Leeds

Can food be art? What do you reckon?

How much of enjoying a plate of food is based just on taste, how much part do our other senses have to play?

Last friday the other half and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with dinner at one of the Leeds’ major food players right now – Michael O’Hare’s The Man Behind the Curtain.  First hearing about him when attending one of Dinner at the Manor’s fantastic supper clubs, I listened intently to a lady who’d highly recommended eating at his previous establishment The Blind Swine in York. Unfortunately, it closed before I got the chance, so when news broke of The Man Behind The Curtain I booked a table.

I don’t want to give too much away with tonnes of descriptions of each dish, because it’ll ruin it. But, what I will say is no one is producing dishes remotely like these in the city, whether it be on taste or presentation. Stunning to look at and a play on the senses from one dish to the next. 

Apologies to Michael O’Hare for photographing the dishes, as on his website he says ‘this is not a restaurant for people who wish to photograph their food’. I’m sorry, I’m pretty incorrigible at the best of times, but when the food looks this good it’s inevitable!

image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image

See what all the fuss is about, go book yourself a table!

The degustation menu is £65 per person.

Oops, a lovely reader has just told me I hadn’t actually said if I enjoyed the meal…..I did, one of the best meals I’ve had in a while!!

The Man Behind The Curtain
68-78 Vicar Lane
Leeds
LS1 7JH
0113 2432376
http://www.themanbehindthecurtain.co.uk

Leave a Reply

