Rola Wala

Rola Wala, remember them? Last year they did a stint as one of Trinity Kitchen’s monthly street food traders, selling their take on Indian street food. Since then, they’ve become a permanent food outlet in Trinity, taking up residence where Notes coffee once resided. So recently I was invited back for a visit, and even though I tend to put free invitations to one side, I thought it would be a good indie trader to revisit and see what they’ve been up to.

image

Their menu still has a range of naan rolls, but also hot bowls which I don’t remember seeing last year, both coming with either non-veg or veg fillings. I went for one of the naan rolls, choosing a combo of fillings – roasted Mumbai gobi, lots of roasted veg…think sweet potato, kale, cauliflower, garlic, slices and lots more. Also the Punjabi paneer which had been nicely charred and lightly spiced. Not only very tasty, but pretty healthy too!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Rola Wala have also teamed up with Leeds’ very own Leeds Brewery, resulting in the new Monsoon IPA and also with Square Root from London. Now considering I’m the last person to call myself an ale drinker, being far more comfortable with a glass of wine, their Monsoon IPA certainly made for a pleasing drop! The IPA helped to cut through some of the spice in the roll and was very drinkable and crisp in flavour. I reckon the two make great partners!!

The other new addition to their menu was their Real Soda, a result of their collaboration with Square Root London. Full of fresh natural ingredients and dead tasty to boot! Made with mango, turmeric and lime soda it was refreshing and you knew it was doing some good, especially as turmeric is known for its anti-oxidant qualities. Perfect on a warm, sunny day! 

image image

Note added- As mentioned at the top, I was invited back to Rola Wala so the food and drink was complimentary on this occasion. Freebies, I very rarely take up, but I did here, however, my opinions are what they are regardless. In fact, I’ve been back since as a paying customer.  

Leave a Reply

